Land of the Incas

Land of the Inca 4b19cd9a95359
$17.00 each


Musical rhythms of the pre-Inca and Inca civilization through a combination of modern compositions.


Reconstructing the musical rhythms born from numerous cultural mixes and influences with Bolivia, Inkuyo offers listeners a variety of these Andean-born rhythms while simultaneously emulating the sounds of ancient songs, dances and festivals which remain popular and celebrated today.

Flowing flawlessly, the music ranges from sensual and cadent tempos, romantic and sensual rhythms, a two-part rhythm that is a slow and sad melody ending with an energetic format breaking the sad spell, lively and beautiful melodies, and capturing the natives yearning for their homeland.

Ancient Sun follows in the same tradition as Inkuyo's other recordings. Listeners are thoughtfully and joyfully transposed to the ancient history of the pre-Inca and Inca civilization through a combination of modern compositions inspired by the land and its people and traditional songs and dances collected during the ensembles' travels throughout the Andes.

About the Artist:
An internationally recognized virtuoso of pan-pipes and South American flutes, Inkuyo founder Gonzalo Vargas, inherited his traditional musical knowledge growing up in the remote Andean village of Tapajkari, Bolivia. His desire to perform, study, and teach his ancestral music led him to work with numerous ensembles in his native land. He then played a key role in introducing Andean music to the United States and Canada as one of the founders of Sukay. In creating Inkuyo, Vargas brought together the talents of musicians who are well versed in the Andean musical heritage.

For more than three decades, Argentinian guitarist Enrique Coria has been performing classical, folk and dance music from South America. He has played on hundreds of difference recordings with popular groups from Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, Bolivia and the United States. Born in Quillacollo, Bolivia, Salomon Perez is a master of the charango, a small guitar like instrument made out of a shell of an Armadillo. Joining Inkuyo are guest artists Jim Kerwin on acoustic bass and Rogelio Rangel on the siku (flute).

CD Tracks:
1   Wipala
2   Camino a Inkuyo
3   Uña
4   Virgen de los Peñas
5   Tierra Callawaya
6   Amanece en Visviri
7   Khusillo
8   Jach'a Marka
9   Samay
10   Flor de Mamiña
11   Cultura Andina
12   Apu
13   Selection of Tinkus
14   Ponchos Rojos/Mi Mala Suerte
15   Surco
16   Peshte Longuita
17   Carnaval
18   Silencio
19   Carnaval Cruceño



Artist: Inkuyo

Format: Audio CD

Label: Celestial Records

Published: 2001

Tribes/Ethnic Groups: Inca